As part of the Norfolk Music Hub Expo, which took place on Thursday 9th March 2017, we held an awards ceremony, to recognise and celebrate the hard work that individuals, schools and organisations put in to music education across the County.

The categories were open to public nominations, from which the Executive Board for Norfolk Music Hub chose the shortlist. The shortlisted nominees were then interviewed by Ian Cooper, Assistant Head of Music Service, and the winners were announced at the evening event of the conference at Dunston Hall.

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners!

Innovation Award (Head of Music)

Fiona Sexton – Flegg High School (Winner)
Michelle Wolfe – Alderman Peel High School
Peter Strudwick – Springwood High School

Innovation Award (Music Coordinator)

Krista Ribbons
Rachel Salton (Winner)
Pete Cuss

Secondary Music Department of the Year

Springwood High School
Alderman Peel High School (Winner)
Flegg High School

Primary School Music Award

St Martha’s Catholic Primary
Edward Worlledge Community Primary (Winner)
Wells-next-the-Sea Primary and Nursery

Complex Needs School Music Award

Fred Nicholson School (Winner)
The Clare School
Ellingham Hospital School

In-school Ensemble Award

Edward Worlledge Staff Choir
Springwood High School Concert Band
Old Buckenham High School Jazz Band (Winner)

Hub-led Ensemble Award

Aylsham Community Ensemble
Norfolk County Youth Orchestra
Norfolk Symphonic Wind Band (winner)

Music Leader Award

Jess Berners
John Stephens (Winner)
Matthew Hardy

Hub Engagement Award

Springwood High School